Incredible Indian Spices

Indian food is by far some of the most flavorful out there and an amazing way to wow every single one of your senses- the bright colors, the strong flavors, it even seems like every single bite is better than the last. It is something that I’ve yearned for ever since I was introduced back when I was in my twenties, always looking for ways to stretch my dollars. I’m a huge buffet person, so I used to always be on the lookout for a great deal no matter what kind of food it was and then a friend showed me the glory that was the lunchtime Indian Buffet. I’d never even thought to cook it myself since at that point I barely remembered to stock my fridge- being a fulltime student working towards my undergrad, working full time to afford my rent, I often just ate fast food or the occasional bagged salad or premade meal from Trader Joes. Then I discovered a place called Fresh and Easy (which is now out of business) where I finally started finding cheap but good quality ingredients to cook for myself and finally began playing around with fresh new ingredients. It wasn’t until I went to culinary school that I started exploring more international cuisine and discovering my passion for big bold flavors. I’ve always been a lover of a good challenge so to me Indian food is the best kind to work with since there is SO much to every dish and it’s a great way to impart flavor with just a small amount.

Curry is one of those items people associate with a bad experience and never return to, so my hope today is to get you to get outside your comfort zone and try something new and different. I, too, had an experience like that where a Thai green curry tried to kill me and my taste buds, and I didn’t attempt to try it for many years after. When it comes to curry, there are so many different varieties it is very easy to get confused so do not worry- you are not alone. I discovered after multiple attempts that I am not a fan of Thai curries, but Indian curries are a different story. Now, I am not AT ALL an expert, nor am I going to show you traditional methods of making it, but the way that I’ve found to be fool proof and an easy way to stretch your dollars to spice up multiple dishes. I do have the utmost respect for the traditional methods of cooking Indian style curries because they take much time, effort and many ingredients to acheive the level of depth you get bursting in each bite. For more traditional recipes, check out https://maunikagowardhan.co.uk/cook-in-a-curry/ where Chef Maunika has over 400 different amazing authentic dishes- I’ve tried quite a few and they are absolutely incredible!! What I can help you acheive is a simple curry dish with staple pantry ingredients so good the whole family will love it- even the kids!

This curry is loaded with Paneer, sweet potatoes and LOTS of chili

Curry powder is a blend of spices that creates the most amazing, warming, flavorful dishes and can be used in a variety of ways. I highly recommend trying out a few different curry powders to figure out which one you like best and don’t buy too much at a time because a little definitely goes a long way. I always recommend using a spice blend rather than premade sauces or mixes because they are more versatile in imparting flavor in not only sauces but other dishes as well plus you are able to control the sodium or heat level if you want and don’t have to worry about any additives snuck in there. You can also try your hand at making your own curry blend if you are like me and happen to have a ton of spices in your cabinet- this one by Minimalist Baker is a great one! https://minimalistbaker.com/diy-curry-powder/ ). Traditionally curry powder is a combination of dry toasted whole spices that are then ground into a powder including corriander, cumin, turmeric, ginger, mustard, black pepper, cinnamon, cardamom and cayenne or other chilis. Of course there are tons of variations on this blend too, some include fenugreek, caraway, clove, nutmeg and fennel, too, however there’s a LOT of ingredients in there to make it super flavorful and fragrant so again- a little really goes a long way. One of my favorite blends is this storebought Organic blend that is super fragrant and not very expensive for a perfect amount.

One of my absolute favorite ways to use curry powder- whether homemade or storebought, is to mix in with chicken salad. It is the most delicious way to elevate a simple dish to make something bright, colorful and so full of flavor. This recipe is so simple and you can try adding in different fruits- fresh or dried and nuts if you don’t love cranberries, but it gives a great contrast to the deep flavors of curry. One way to make this the easiest chicken salad EVER is using some leftover rotisserie chicken- that way it’s even quicker to put together, otherwise simple roasted chicken breast will work just fine. This mix is perfect for sandwiches, wraps, or lettuce cups, plus it looks super fancy so would be an awesome appetizer at a cocktail party on a crostini or in a little lettuce cup. You could even throw in some cheese and mayo and turn it into a curry chicken dip and toss it in a slow cooker to keep warm and eat with toasted bread- the options are endless!! Of course you can adjust the mayo and seasoning levels in the recipe to your liking- my husband loves mayo so I tend to add more, and of course if you aren’t a fan of red onion, up one of the other veggies or add extra nuts or fruit to provide a crunch to the dish which is necessary. I put mine between some toasted sourdough bread alongside some of my favorite Terra chips and homemade pickles for the PERFECT lunch!

Curry Chicken Salad 4 servings

2 cups shredded or diced chicken, cooked and cooled

1/4 cup mayonaise

3 tsp curry powder

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup red or white onion, diced small

1/4 cup stalks celery, diced small

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

1/2 an apple, diced small (optional)

Salt and Pepper to taste

To Make: Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well, seasoning with salt and pepper to taste. Store in airtight container (not a white one it WILL stain) up to 7 days.

The best and by far the easiest way to make a simple curry without any storebought sauces is so satisfying, plus once you get this base down you can really start playing with different proteins and veggies to add to it. As I mentioned before, although it may not be traditional, it is a fantastic base to build from to start playing around with different flavor profiles and different proteins. We love pork in our house, and since I had never tried a pork curry of course we had to try it out and I have to say the results were AMAZING!!! Other proteins that we’ve used that are also amazing are tofu, which you can fry separately to give an amazing texture and crunch to an otherwise soft dish, or if you want to go vegetarian entirely simply substitute the chicken in this recipe for peeled potatoes or chickpeas and about 1 cup of peas and a handful of spinach. Making a large batch of this curry is a great way to meal prep for the week, plus you can turn it into that awesome chicken salad recipe given above by just adding the mayo and veggies, or toss it in a wrap, bowl or add some boiled potatoes and peas to make these simple puff pastry cups pictured above or even (non-traditional) samosas! I love pairing my curry with white rice and roasted cauliflower and carrots for a nice texture contrast and top with a sprinkle of fresh cilantro. Hope you all enjoy, make some and tag me in your creations- #ray2zcooking

Happy cooking!

Chicken Curry makes 4 portions

32 oz chicken thigh- boneless skinless

4 oz onion, diced small

5 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp ginger, minced

2 tsp tomato paste

1/4 cup cury powder

2 tbsp ground cumin

1 can coconut milk

2 cups chicken broth

2 tbsp coconut or olive oil

To Make: 1. Heat oil over medium/high heat in a large pot or dutch oven. Saute onion, garlic, and ginger about 3 minutes or until fragrant.

2. Turn down heat slightly then add the curry powder and cumin and toast for 2 minutes or until color deepens and starts smoking. Add tomato paste and coconut milk, whisking constantly to break up any chunks making sure to scrape the bottom of the pan to get anything that sticks.

3. Add broth and chicken, bring to a boil then reduce heat to medium, cover, and simmer 30-45 minutes or place in 350 degree oven.

4. Stir well once chicken is cooked then serve over basmati rice and top with fresh cilantro, dried or fresh mint or basil, chili flakes, or jalapenos. Enjoy!

Leave a comment